Life, love, SLO-Town & My Academic Adventure, Smile, Thoughts

Be a Baby, Not a Rock.

Good morning sunshine!  It’s a stunning day today,  should get well into the 70’s and I’m wearing my hair curly like I said I would!  I like it.  I got a lot of sleep last night, and I actually woke up 30 minutes before my alarm went off so I layed in bed and read and silently noted how soft my skin is.

And I love breakfast… I have miso soup for breakfast every morning, how cute is that?  Miso and yogurt and fruit, just like in Japan.  I believe you knew this already…  I’m going to tell you my bionic-woman morning routine:

I wake up and eat my favorite breakfast, I check the news, the e-mail, then I ride my bike for at least 15 minutes to wake up and get my metabolism going. I like to watch TV with the volume down and listen to music while I do crunchies and stretches and weights, then I bolt upstairs and get myself ready right-quick since mommy doesn’t drag me out the door anymore and I hate to make others late.  It funny how much you can love to do something when no one makes you do it (*ahem: school)

Yesterday I got a conference-call from my sisters after they read my last blog post and it made me cry!  I tried not to, but then I just thought “what the heck” and they sat on the other end giggling with satisfaction.  It always surprises me when I cry– it doesn’t happen very often.  I have a funny childhood memory of a friend who was older than me, at the time she must have been about 10 or so.  We were at a dinner party for mostly adults, and I remember admiring her as she walked around acting so mature, schmoozing with the grown-ups, telling everyone how she doesn’t cry anymore.  After that, for much of my childhood, I thought you became a grown-up when you stopped crying.  I guess we’re all babies, except maybe for the type from the song I am a Rock by Simon & Garfunkel.  You know the one:

A winters day/In a deep and dark December; I am alone, Gazing from my window to the streets below On a freshly fallen silent shroud of snow. I am a rock, I am an island.
Ive built walls, A fortress deep and mighty, That none may penetrate. I have no need of friendship; friendship causes pain. Its laughter and its loving I disdain.
I am a rock, I am an island.
I have my books  And my poetry to protect me;  I am shielded in my armor,  Hiding in my room, safe within my womb.  I touch no one and no one touches me.
I am a rock, I am an island.
And a rock feels no pain;  And an island never cries.

 That song is great to walk to, coincidentally.  The beat is perfect for a sunny day.

Tonight I’m seeing Into The Wild, which will probably make me want to go backpacking or something.  And did I mention that my feature story is probably going to be published in the school paper?  My teacher loved it!  So very, very cool…

Standard

Leave a Reply

