SLO-Town & My Academic Adventure

Show The Love

Today a couple is celebrating their 83rd wedding anniversary, the longest a couple has ever been married in the entire world.  “They don’t have a magic formula to explain the success of their marriage. They just took seriously what they said to each other when they stood at the altar.  “You take your vows, for better or for worse, for richer or for poorer,” Mayme said. “I guess you just stick to it, come what may.” “

I take marriage especially seriously (more seriously than most I’d say, even my sisters) because my parents were divorced.  I think one of the reasons divorce rates are so high is because vows seem to have lost their power in a certain sense.  The majority don’t take marriage as seriously as they used to.  Perhaps people lack a certain discipline to remember the promises they made and to work through difficulties.  I also think that people get married too early;  the human mind really becomes stable around the age of thirty.  This isn’t to say you can’t change as a person after 30, but most of the radical growth periods and learning curves have solidified to create the person that you will maintain.  When people marry at a young age without an understanding that they need to grow and learn with one another, sometimes they just grow apart. I never want a divorce.

 On another note, it’s my birthday in exactly one week!  I guess I’m excited, although it’s really not that big of a deal.  I’m a simple girl, I just want a few things for my birthday and you can’t buy them so just show me some love and I’m happy. 

I’m going home this weekend, bringing back my car… I’m stoked on it.  And I have a job at this adorable sandwich shop in SLO, right on Broad Street.  I can’t wait to see my little sister, my parents and my friends… stoked on grocery shopping, stoked for the Citizen Cope concert next week, Palm Desert… mmmm life’s about to get really good.

 

Standard

One thought on “Show The Love

  1. My grandparents celebrated their 50th anniversary the other day. I want that kind of marriage. I hate the word divorce, because I think it means that you basically lied tp this person you “love” for however long you were with them. Its like a slap in the face and you basically throw away the vows you said at the altar. They’re called “vows” for a reason.

    When is your birthday? I hope you have your pony by then, haha.

Leave a Reply

