Life, Nineteen, Obama, Thoughts

When Pigs Fly

OBAMA:

“You go into some of these small towns in Pennsylvania, and like a lot of small towns in the Midwest, the jobs have been gone now for 25 years and nothings replaced them. And they fell through the Clinton administration, and the Bush administration, and each successive administration has said that somehow these communities are gonna regenerate, and they have not. So it’s not surprising then that they get bitter, they cling to guns, or religion, or antipathy to people who aren’t like them, or anti-immigrant sentiment, or anti-trade sentiment, as a way to explain their frustrations.”

Bottom line? These comments are not right. They’re not OK to say. I know that Barack is my main man but I need to be fair here… I’m disappointed and surprised, quite frankly. I almost wrote to defend these remarks, but couldn’t bring myself to do it. We all know (of course) people like this exist in middle America, but also in other places, and they also DON’T exist in middle America. Such sweeping generalizations are a pet peeve of mine, which is why I love the Obama campaign; I feel they truly attempt to avoid low political tactic and swift-boating and such and the like. Alas, it’s how you recover from a mistake that counts so we shall see what happens but so far, I’m not very pleased. Boo hoo 😦

On a lighter note, right now I’m drinking wine over a vegetable stir-fry and butternut squash soup. I cleaned my room today, washed all my clothes and (are you ready? I even…) put them all away. I changed my linens to these amazing high thread-count crisp white sheets that I forgot my mom gave to me, and I’m feeling very rested.

Apparently I’m really lucky I got tickets to Flight of The Conchords because the show sold out in 3 minutes. The seats I got for $34 are going on e-bay for at least $250 a pop. Check this music vid, its The Black Seeds from New Zee and Bret makes a cameo appearance:

Also, if you haven’t seen the pictures yet, a baby was born in India with 2 faces. I personally think it’s beautiful in some odd way… crazy/beautiful/strange. This little girl, Lali Singh, is being hailed as the goddess Durga. She can drink milk from both mouths and blinks all four of her eyes at once!

Lali Singh

Lali Singh

Lastly, a few thoughts of my own… lately I’m struggling to set some boundaries for myself which sounds kind of silly but entirely makes sense. Growing up, more so in my adolescent/highschool years, my greatest gift and also greatest downfall was the lack of boundaries my parents set for me. I won’t elaborate but I got away with too much and I plan on keeping my children closer to the picket fence. Now I’m really going out on a limb writing this in a blog post but that’s OK. Parents? Don’t freak out, it’s how I feel and it’s not bad, merely challenging. In your defense, since (mom) I already know your guard is going up, I think I was born to push the boundaries. Anyway… I’ve always been a good kid, I’ve finally broken away from the black-sheep, “endangered patient,” signature “bad-girl,” or “evil twin” persona my family or others have tried to pin on me (subconsciously, don’t fret) It worked for a while, and sometimes when you’re given a false label you accept it, and that’s OK too as long as you learn to shed it. So I was kind of a wild-child for a bit, I did my own thing and in the scheme of things I never did any wrong but I wasn’t Marsha Brady either.

The downside of this boundless adolescense has passed, though it still sometimes poses a struggle. It taught me to really take a hold of my own. If I want something in life, I reach out and grab it for myself since I know that no one else will do it for me. Some see my trip to Japan as impossible for them, and maybe it is, the difference (I think) is that I don’t see anything as impossible. Even pigs can fly in artwork.

There are, however, limits to my “reach out and grab it” attitude. I have to keep in mind that my wave length is slightly more brisk than most, and sometimes I have to harness my enthusiasm, excitement or passion as it can be overwhelming.

Standard

Leave a Reply

