Change, Dip Dive, Life, Obama, politics

Obama, Olive You.

Barack and Michelle Obama

I’ve been so ridiculously involved in laundry, packing, and internet browsing for airplane tickets and Coldplay tickets today that I only JUST found out that Barack Obama is the presumptive Democratic nominee. I was sitting there watching MSNBC, fuming at the ugly sight of Senator McCain, when…. Breaking News! BARACK OBAMA IS THE PRESUMPTIVE DEMOCRATIC NOMINEE.

There I sat, stiff with excitement, my jaw on the floor, my eyes wide and watery and bright. I was stuck, struck, my insides and my head felt like a whirl of political passion… I didn’t know what to do with myself! So I ran next door to share my excitement with the neighbor boys, who said “Duh” and starred at me all cow-eyed; not quite the response I’d hoped for, but then one of my best friends Andi called me and we squealed on the phone for a good 5 minutes and discussed possible VP candidates the rest of the time. All of a sudden I had this huge moment of clarity. Barack Obama is soon to be our President of the United States of America.

I’m watching the news right now, and here he is. He’s walking out from behind the bright blue curtain toward the podium with U2 playing in the backgroud, his beautiful wife (clad in bright purple) at his side. They are a sight to behold, and I just feel so, so, so proud. I feel so proud of him. Proud of my country, of my generation… It’s amazing when you know that you’re witnessing a historic moment.

In his speech, John McCain used the word “change” 32 times (33 if you count “climate change.”) The backdrop behind him was a bright shade of green with white block letters that read, “A leader we can believe in.” Even Senator McCain has acknowledged the need and desire of the American people for change. Funny thing is, I don’t think McCain knows anything about change… his policies certainly don’t reflect that he does.

Obama’s speech is phenomenal. It’s perfect and passionate and inspirational. Here are some quotes I typed fast enough to capture:

“What you won’t see is a campaign that uses religion as wedge, and patriotism as a bludgeon.”

“America, this is our moment, this is our time, our time to turn the page on the policies of the past…. our time to offer a new direction for this country that we love. I face this challenge with profound humility, and knowledge of my own limitations. But I also face it with limitless faith in the capacity of the American people… I am absolutely certain that generations from now we will be able to look back and see that this was the moment, this was the time that we came together to remake our nation so that it would reflect ourselves…”

I can’t believe that after all of this time, after 16 months… since he introduced himself in Boston as a skinny man with big ears named Barack Obama, since the beginning of “Yes We Can!” and now, finally: “Here Is How.” Let’s all just enjoy this moment. The Obama campaign has issued statements saying that they’re going to take 10 minutes to enjoy their victory. And so now, LET’S PAARTY!

Standard

Leave a Reply

