love, Music, Nineteen, Obama

Not-So-Modest…

John,

 

Since brevity is the soul of wit, I’ll try to keep my silly fan letter brief.  Avoiding the incessant, cliche expressions of fanaticism, I simply want to convey my gratitude.  I say “simply” although, really, I don’t find it in the least bit simple.  

 

When I was a little girl, jazz and blues music fit like a missing piece in my heart…  as if I hadn’t quite been a complete person until The Allman Brothers, Stevie Ray Vaughn and John Coltrane played through my fathers stereo system.  I felt a sense of overwhelming love and certainty when I first heard this music. I felt certainty and, somehow, knowledge that the love I felt was much greater than I could understand at that time.  

 

Since then, this music has proved to be the rare gift in my life that always feels right and good and necessary for me to live.  

 

Of course, my love for music bleeds from jazz and blues into other genres: classic punk, folk music, hip-hop, soul, new-age rock… but jazz and blues are the crux, my core, quintessential and vital to my soul.  Music provides me with my passion; nothing would feel as wonderful or be as beautiful without blues music in my life. Normally I would feel uncertain or scared giving that enormous of a role to any single thing… but that is the magnificence.  I feel safe attributing my fervor and lust for life to the sounds of Miles, B.B., and my favorite Clapton, Page & Beck vinyl.  Their music offers the necessary tools for a fulfilling life; they never, ever fail me.

  

 

Here is where I lose my voice.

 

My love for your guitar renders me speechless, a challenge I hope to overcome in this letter.  

 

Your music has offered me enormous comfort, has articulated my passion for life and has bestowed upon me a larger capacity for love.  Continuum is a sanctuary, my safe haven, and has such immense depth that it contains the ability to grow and change with me through times of heartbreak and loneliness, then love and strength and everything in between.

 

If Dwayne, Stevie, Miles, Mr. King, Mr. Davis and Mr. Clapton color my world, then your music spins it into vivid motion.  

 

You’d play all the songs on the soundtrack of my life.   You’re the voice of the generation that I’m so proud to be a part of, and your music represents the basic change I wish to see in the world. I admire you fervently, ardently, to no end, in that undying “I’ve-got-your-back” sort of way.  

 

So apparently exuding bold, colorful, unceasing love works.  The world is drawn to you because you’ve learned to steep that love into your music and we return the it in this sort of magnificent, continuous, continuum of a cycle. That is what it’s all about.

 

Thank you for brightening my life and never, ever letting me down.  And sweet heaven, thank you for The Trio.

 

Modestly and adoringly always,

 

Erika Anderson

Standard

Leave a Reply

