Friends, Life, Nineteen, Thoughts, Women

“A diplomat is a man who always remembers a woman’s birthday but never remembers her age.” -Robert Frost

I LOVE being a woman. I take huge pride in my place in the world as a female, and also enormous pride in my fellow fabulous females.  (Yes, this is a post-modern feminist diatribe.) I believe that any man who does not understand that the world does not turn without PMS is sadly forgetting or lacking something.  

My menstrual cycle is what makes me feel like a woman, it is the reason I have breasts, and it is why I have a no-longer-denied, innate desire to nurture.  It also means that I am not pregnant, which is good at this point in my life.  I also love my period because it tells me “hey, you can have little babies if you want to.”  Someday… someday (read: not now) I want babies.  

For now, my friends and I (who are in our physiological prime to procreate) can gush over babies in strollers at Starbucks, and talk about eventual motherhood while walking past a display of itty-bitty baby Vans in a window of a children’s clothing store.  Any male who is grossed out by the idea of a females monthly cycle needs to grow up…  This is how I feel.  Guys don’t experience it, they don’t need to see it, but the reap all the benefits from this monthly phenomenon… how lucky for them! So guys? Do not fear it, appreciate it as it should be.

 

I do not generally demand or expect sensitivity from males during that time of the month or any other time, for that matter.  For the most part, expecting sensitivity will most always leave you feeling let down.  BUT.  But, there are times when sensitivity and support from a male counterpart is necessary and expected.  This is why:

I work very hard to understand the inner workings of the male mind.  Contrary to popular female belief, their minds are not simple and they are not impossible.  Their thought process is best defined as straight forward. In order to communicate with most “man’s man” types it is important to spell it out to them.  They cannot read your mind, and they won’t know what you expect or want or are upset about if you don’t inform them–with some exceptions.  Exceptions? Yes. 

These exceptions are hard-earned because I stick my neck out to communicate effectively with the opposite sex….  I am easy to understand, flexible, understanding, cool, fun, I aim to please, and I’m not a jealous person.  What I’m saying is that I strive to be these things to make living on this planet with these amazing men more enjoyable.  In return for my efforts I expect to be met halfway.    Am I asking too much for boys to learn some sensitivity? Some thoughtfulness and manners? Learn how to cuddle, how to surprise us, and learn what is important to us.  After you learn what is important to us (it is different for every girl) you can help yourself by supporting us in those things.  

What is important to me?  My family, my best friends, my health, my sense of strength and independence, my constitutional rights, and my femininity.

This is me spelling it out.  It’s as simple as it gets.  Learn to have compassion for me about these things, or I will lose interest.

Standard

4 thoughts on ““A diplomat is a man who always remembers a woman’s birthday but never remembers her age.” -Robert Frost

  1. Molly says:

    could this girl get any one better?!
    anyone who fails to see how unique and amazing and brilliant she is in all he glory needs to take the matter up with ME!!!!!

Leave a Reply

