Holidays 2008

Erika and AARP.

I am retired, aging, and sailing the cerulean seas on a yacht with my husband,
Touring Japan at 68,  50 years later, missing my dad,
Drinking wine with my children, watching their children, watching the Christmas Story.

I am middle aged, struggling with sadness as my kids leave home for college.
I kept them safe and happy until 18 and understand the plight of my mother,
I kiss them at their graduation and grin. 

I am holding my own beautiful, happy baby.
Glowing with happiness, anticipating the life ahead,
Watching my husband and his smiling eyes–we are nervous, too.

I am in my prime, savvy, sexy and single,
Graduated college, living the city life, I drive a nice car,
And last night I met an amazing guy. 

I’m just going to junior college, riding my bike around SLO,
not yet knowing my major, anticipating the future, 
It’s easy to get ahead of myself…

“What are you doing for Christmas?  When are you coming home?  What classes are you taking next semester?  What’s your major?  Where are you transferring? Who do you want to marry?  How many kids do you want to have?”

And lastly, where do you want to live for the remainder of a life in which you never pull yourself from the future to enjoy the present?

I want to live NOW, in the now, please.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Erika and AARP.

  1. Michael says:

    🙂
    You are truly a doll!!!

    Every time I stop by your blog you have the greatest posts. Don’t ever change and don’t ever stop writing!

    Have a Merry Xmas!!!!

    xo

Leave a Reply

