Holidays 2008

The Nostalgia Of 90’s Music

My Favorites (and a brief synopsis)

1.  How Bizarre – OMC  >reminds me of my babysitter driving us past Happy Dog in her 80’s Corolla.  LOVE THIS song.

2.  You Get What You Give – The New Radicals  >My Mom nearly forced this song down out throats because she wanted my sisters and I to form a new-age version of the Partridge Family (only, with violins). Luckily, I still love the song.

3.  Lovefool – The Cardigans  >Reminds me of my older neighbor friend who introduced me to my very first notion of sex appeal.  Don’t worry… tame and innocent, not to me misconstrued.

4.  Two Princes – Spin Doctors  >Nothing like belting this with the windows down.

5.  I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles) – The Proclaimers  >Benny and Joon (1993), what more can be said?

6. Bittersweet Symphony – The Verve  >Possibly overplayed but, again, what more can be said?

 7.  I Touch Myself – The Divinyls  >Made me feel naughty for a reason I didn’t understand at the time… Also, Austen Powers in his greatest glory.  I’d listen to it on my walkman on the bus ride to 5th grade.

8.  What’s Up? – 4 Non Blondes  >Funny, but I can’t remember if I adored this song or hated it… all I know is that I felt strongly in either direction.

9.  The Impression That I Get – The Mighty Mighty Boss  >My first vision of ska.

 

Notables:

Lullaby-Shawn Mullins
Closing Time-Semisonic
Mazzy Star, Eagle Eye Cherry,
I Love You Always Forever-Donna Lewis 
Mambo No. 5 – Lou Bega  >Only song ever in the history of the world to mention the name “Erika”…. thanks Lou 🙂

Standard

One thought on “The Nostalgia Of 90’s Music

Leave a Reply

