Twenty!

Some New Things That I Love, Lately:

 

Okay, so this isn't a new love... but how cute is John Mayer as a little school boy??

Okay, so this isn't a new love... but how cute is John Mayer as a little school boy??

 

My new brown, leather strappy summer heels.  So stoked.

I also love that Eva is rockin’ a french manicure.

I love Twitter, and I embrace my love for Twitter because I think it has the ability to be potentially GREAT for the discourse of the media.  Twitter brings democracy to the news, and hands the masses the ability to decide what they believe to be ‘newsworthy’.  Unfortunately, we live in a wonderfully elitist society–a society controlled by elites that give us the illusion of having control over our society/government by allowing us to vote, etc.  In reality, we don’t garner very much change by voting, and we have very little power.  This is a good thing because, generally speaking, the masses are (collectively) uninformed idiots who don’t have a desire to protect the fundamentals of democracy (For example, the woman on the news today who said, when asked her opinion on the pervert spotted in her neighborhood, “on the second [pervert] offense I think they should be castrated.  I really do.”  Now, that’s not democratic, is it?  So, I’ve made a short story long, but I’m saying this because while I really love Twitter because it’s opened up the Internet for me and has allowed a very direct means for gathering news that I care about, handing the news to the masses can result in this: The Masses Aren’t Smart (I fell for this too…)  Regardless, get a Twitter.  You’ll have one in a year anyway, and that’s if your consciously fighting it.  A year is how long you’ll last.  Get it now and reserve your user name before you wind of having to use a ten digit number on the end of your last name.

I love Gossip Girl.  Season Finale this Monday!  I don’t hide my love for this any more.  And you know what, recently I came to realize that I don’t need to hide the cliche parts of me anymore.  I’m cultured and avant-garde but I can still love Oprah, french manicures and Gossip Girl, okay?

 

I love Orientalism

I love Orientalism

 

I love Goya.

I love Goya.

I love boys that play sports.  (found this on my computer desktop and I didn't drag it there--if I didn't then who did?

I love boys that play sports. (found this on my computer desktop and I didn't drag it there--if I didn't then who did?) By the by, his guy's a little too skinny for my taste.

I love vertical stripes lately.  I love white t-shirts lately.  I love pencil eyeliner as opposed to liquid eyeliner lately.

I Love:
Dave Matthews Band lately,
W.E.B. Du Bois lately (and forever)

Lastly,  I love falafel and baklava lately.  More on that later.. Must sleep I gotta wake up early… if you’re lucky I’ll post some really funny pictures of Eva and I drinking tacky drinks out of tacky martini glasses by the end of the weekend.  If you call yourself out on being tacky, are you still tacky?

Standard

2 thoughts on “Some New Things That I Love, Lately:

  1. Erika says:

    ooOOo… that is the skinny I love.
    Oh, and yes you are still tacky, but you’re exempt from any negative connotation that may come from the act of being that initial tacky once you’ve embraced it. AND I love you for your tackiness.

  2. You know people love each other when they share computers. I came to your site and was unaware that I was you. AH haha! I wrote the above comment… and this one too 😀 lovelovelove

Leave a Reply

