Twenty!

My Experience Back East…

… could not be better or more thouroughly described than with the words of my sister.

Her blog post on the trip sums it up, and then some 🙂

I begin school tomorrow… just went back-to-school shopping which consisted of: a (v-neck)white t-shirt, liquid eyeliner, (shower fresh)deodorant, 2 notebooks (swimming pool blue and sunflower yellow), pens (black Pilot brand, always), (vanilla)soy milk, (roma)tomatoes, pita bread, free-trade Swiss dark chocolate, (baked) tortilla chips& (chipotle)salsa, bright red nail polish, and a ferris bueller folder. BAZAOW!… a minor dent until it’s time to buy books, which I’m scared of because it’s going to be expensive and I feel like my dad has already forked over an arm and a leg for rent/security deposit this month.  Every semester it’s like I have to use my intuition to figure out which book I don’t have to buy… I’ve been lucky so far.
I’ve got all of my medical stuff pretty much figured out… My immune system is really low, according to the doctors, and it’s probably due to stress, which is causing a number of other problems.  Test results came back and to put it simply, stage 1 is the least severe and stage 4 is cancer, and I have stage 1, which will probably clear itself up once I get my immune system back up.  I have vitamins and supplements and Emergen-C and I’m drinking lots of water and getting lots of sleep… the funny thing is I don’t feel stressed, it’s a different kind of stress that your body expresses in different ways; some people gain weight, have headaches, are tired, and my body slows it’s immune system, probably because it’s the only way it can make me stop and rest.  I have to pay attention to this for the rest of my life.  I’m going to find a really good, young doctor in San Francisco to build a relationship with so that I can have an opinion I trust and a doctor that knows me and that I can go to for many years to come.  My dad had that idea, and the thought was brought up that I could have this doctor through pregnancy one day and that pretty much blew my mind.  

I think I have my first cavity… I can feel it when i brush my teeth and, oddly enough, when I run.  So there’s still that to sort out 🙂

Otherwise, I’m just hanging out, developing my list of questions to ask the Iranian boy that my friend Kellyn works with.  If I got a tattoo, not to say that I am, because I don’t think I ever would, but hypothetically speaking, it would be a line from a Rumi poem in Arabic.  But only after I actually WENT to Iran. WHICH I WOULD LOVE TO DO.  I’d only wear a casual hijab, and I’d wear nail polish and have a male Farsi translator.  Actually, that would be so illegal… but I’d love to try.  In all reality I’d probably end up wearing a full-on hijab and strictly abiding by the laws of the land.  Or else, I’d probably be made an example of.  Anyway, there I go speculating again–something that really bothers my friend Mckenna, only because she happens to be an even bigger speculator than I am (asking questions like, “What if Drake were singing about YOU?”) OOooo she’s going to be mad when she reads this! FUNNY ‘CAUSE IT’S TRUE! FUNNY ‘CAUSE IT’S TRUE!

Wish me luck crashing tons of classes tomorrow. xoxoxo…

Standard

3 thoughts on “My Experience Back East…

  1. Dear Erika, I am so glad to read your new blog. I am going to look up the immune system deficit in astrology too. Sometimes these things run in cycles. Would you like to do the Juice Plus that I am doing. It is a veggie juice supplement and I am finding it quite a help, slow at first and subtle but it has helped with ups and downs of energy a lot. Look up the Juice Plus on the Internet and tell me and I will send you some to try out. You know I am quite conservative about these things. Classes Monday! I wish you inspired teachers and interesting material. Meanwhile my dear funky frinklefrank take great care of yourself. OOOOOODles of love Grandma

Leave a Reply

