Twenty!

God Probably Drinks Root Beer

Last night the lace that i pinned up in my skylight didn’t give and it became a cat’s cradle.  I woke up and there was a cat lounging in my skylight like it was a hammock so I poked it.  And then I poked it again.  But he didn’t move, so I pushed him out of my hammock skylight and that was that.

I sort of lost my zest for writing about root beer but I’ll give it a shot.  I drink almost one root beer every day.  My favorite is Hansens Diet Root Beer because they use Splenda, zero sodium, and I so I don’t feel so guilty.  But root beer is not a drink that is easy to find in diet form, and that’s probably because it’s so old-fashioned. I love root beer because it is caffeine free, it is sweet and spicy, and because it predates cola and all other sodas on the market.  There is no authentic root beer recipe, but it usually includes allspice, birch bark, coriander seed, ginger and hops, burdock root, dandelion root, guaiacum chips, spicewood, wild cherry bark and bitters, wintergreen and wintergreen oil, yellow dock, prickly ash bark and even, molasses.  It is 100% American and it tastes amazing with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.  I also really like using slow churned ice cream and diet root beer for a lower calorie treat…. yummmmy. You can make your own root beer by purchasing root beer extract.  The easiest explanation I’ve read is by Miss Amy O. I want to buy a keg of root beer and throw a float party. How wholesome.

Concerning God, I’ve realized that I’ve accepted “God” as a word to communicate better with popular culture.  I never grew up with the word GOD being associated to things like success, death, marriage, gratitude or anything of the sort.  Therein lies the issue:  words influence culture as much as culture influences words.  I have an intuition that there is a higher power, but since it was never related to being “God”, I don’t associate that feeling, awe, gratitude, and strength to “God”.  But I see that other people do, they like to give it a name.  Even though I don’t feel the same way, for the sake of understanding others, I like to talk about my intuition and awe referring to the name GOD when I talk to people who are religious.  I think it has a lot more meaning to them than it does to me, and if it helps hit home some new ideas and questions then I’ll call it whatever.  I just want to understand and connect with them.  A rose by any other name is still a rose.

Standard

Leave a Reply

