Twenty!

Who Says

At first listen, John Mayer’s new single is calming.  At second listen I found it humorous, and the third time I heard it I thought it subversive.  The minimalism he uses is somewhat confusing;  since we already know his tremendous talent, the soft strumming and simple lyrics must aim to send some kind of message.  But what?  Is he arrogantly justifying his rock and roll life style?  Is he making a statement by using his usually romantic coos and guitar strums to sing about getting stoned?  Probably all of the above, but he’s also been quoted as explaining that the song is about taking pleasure in taking pleasure.  I’m feelin’ that, but I can’t say that I love the song… something is holding me back from saying that I love it.  I’ll be honest, it’s catchy. & I would definitely enjoy playing it if I were, say, bored on a stormy Monday night and smoked a joint by myself… but it seems like it’d be number 7 on the track list (in other words, not an appropriate 1st single).  I find it anticlimactic, and I’m disappointed that it lacks bass and a strong guitar–not quite what I expected about this album but since it remains yet to be released I still have hope.

Standard

Leave a Reply

