Twenty!

Retro is The Rose That Blossoms

My roommates and I are all in the living room studying and for some reason we started listening to Christmas music.  I have to say, it really cheers things up in this little apartment, and it makes drinking tea and the fact that we’re cold seem more appropriate.  And it justifies the Christmas lights in our living room.  Josh Groban, on the other hand, can go.

I look very retro today, haven’t felt as “pretty” before.  I wore a pink silk blouse, skinny jeans, flats, a cardigan, I pulled my wavy hair back and wore a flower in it.  As I was walking to California Street I imagined that I was in the 1960’s and I was happy.

Happy March everyone!  It’s my birthday month, I can’t wait to turn 21.  Wish I were able to spend my birthday with my sister.

And now, a love poem:

The Rose in the Deeps of His Heart
by William Butler Yeats

All things uncomely and broken,
all things worn-out and old,
The cry of a child by the roadway,
the creak of a lumbering cart,

The heavy steps of a ploughman,
splashing the wintry mould,
Are wronging your image that blossoms a rose
in the deeps of my heart.

The wrong of unshapely things
is a wrong too great to be told;
I hunger to build them anew
and sit on a green knoll apart,

With the earth and the sky and the water,
remade, like a casket of gold
For my dreams of your image that blossoms
a rose in the deeps of my heart.

Standard

One thought on “Retro is The Rose That Blossoms

  1. Dear Erika
    Lovely and you are the rose that blooms in the depths of my heart
    Robert Burns ..
    O my luve is like a red red rose ,that’s newly sprung in June, O my luve is like a melodie that sweetly played in tune.
    As fair art thou my bonnie lass so deep in luve am I , and I will luve you still my dear til all the seas gang dry, til all the seas gang dry my dear and the rocks melt wi’ the sun and I will love you still my dear , while the sands o’ life shall run.
    Much love Grandma

Leave a Reply

