Twenty!

Fried Eggs and Sexuality Ethics

I woke up at 4:30 am today and couldn’t fall back asleep.  There comes a point in the morning, while you’re laying there fantasizing about how tired you’re going to be later, when you commit to being awake.  Today that time was 5:40.  So I got up, took a shower and then I took a bubble bath.  And I took my sweet time getting ready before I fried myself an egg ala Michelle, who taught me a new way to cook eggs.  I think it’s actually the traditional way to cook eggs, only using olive oil, except for I think I was taught to cook eggs the wrong way.  Eggs were the first thing my sister learned to cook and I swear, not a middle school day went by where Ash didn’t cook up some eggs in some form or another.  I always thought she cooked them on too high of a heat, or… maybe that was me.

The way you “feel” like having your eggs cooked on any particular day could be like a little astrological reading all its own.  Did you know, I can’t eat scrambled eggs without fresh salsa?  Tapatio maaaybe.  But seriously, I’ve been that way since I was a little girl.  Scrambled eggs no salsa, no can do.

I have an hour until class starts and I’m starting to feel like I need a nap.  4 hours won’t cut it, obviously.

I need a favor from my lovely readers.  For my Sexuality and Gender Ethics class I need to gather some opinions on a few pretty personal questions.  He told us to ask someone we’re sleeping with, or the people we’re sleeping with, and that was one of those moments where I said, “wow this is college.”  Anyway, since my pillows didn’t answer the questions sufficiently, I’m going to ask of your the least intimate questions, I would be appreciative if you would answer one of these to the best of your ability:

  • What does sex make possible for us as persons?
  • What values do you associate with sex/sexuality?  How do these values  fit with your other values?
  • How does the pleasure of others or the virtue of other limit your own personal interests in sexual relationships?
  • What do you strive for in life?  How does sex and sexuality fit with these strivings?

I’m going to try to disable comments from being public, but if I can’t and you don’t feel comfortable answering via blog comment plz email me at: fresherika@gmail.com

I’m appreciative!!  Xoxo

(Mom Grandma and Dad  please don’t respond.  TMI, You understand.)

***************************************************************************

Comments will not be posted publicly, I will be the only one reading them and then I’ll delete them!   You can respond anonymously if you’d like to as well.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Fried Eggs and Sexuality Ethics

  1. ashley says:

    Fyi, my eggs were superb 🙂 I perfected egg cooking! Too high a heat makes the whites rubbery and disgusting. Please do tell me how to cook eggs a la Michelle!

  2. Dear Erika So of course when I am forbidden to respond to such provocative and I must say good questions I have to cause trouble. What this brings to mind is that if I wrote a family history, one in which I was the ears for all the adults at the time, I would feel awkward about the comments on sex that I heard. We don’t usually hear what our ancestors thought and did about sex, some things were funny and all prove the point that nothing really changes except hat styles. We will have to talk about this sometime my love. Now as for my experience forget it. Well maybe when I am in my 90’s.
    I like perfectly poached eggs I think. They do them at the Beachcombers with avocado and cheese on a bagel. The perfectly cooked omelet is still an art form.
    Sophie is at the vets getting spayed today and the house is dead. I have been napping off and on trying to get caught up on my energy. Meanwhile keep these great blogs going. Love Ash’s trip north too. Luvya Grandma

Leave a Reply

