Study Abroad

TOSS THE KEYS

Bloodshot eyes and practically twitching with anxiety, I turned in my Spanish final and staggered into the rain only to be met with sparkling wine, cupcakes and two of my closest friends in the world.  It doesn’t seem possible that the daunting task of packing for a seven month escapade through Europe could be a relaxing experience, but I’m pretty sure once you’ve ended the most exhausting semester of your life, almost anything feels relaxing.  (Yes, even traveling).  Leah (aka best friend in the world who remembers everything embarrassing and hilarious you’ve ever said/done/worn/told her)  literally packed my entire bag for me.  We decided the whole FOR/AGAINST clothing battle and whatever won would be promptly rolled-up into a neat little sushi roll by Leah and packed carefully away into the boroughs of my suitcase.

The whole experience was so easy that I hardly feel like I packed. The duration of this trip definitely hasn’t hit me.  Molly laid in my bed (aka her favorite place in the world) and gave constructive input and, occasionally, I would refill her wineglass.  Wes brought us dinner, I drank some whiskey for good measure, and we all went to bed.  This morning I was ready to go 2 hours in advance and I could hardly wait to toss my keys under the door of that apartment.  Basically what I’m getting at is that the whole experience of leaving was so relaxed and enjoyable that it makes me wonder if something is missing???  Where is the meltdown?  What did I forget?!

I’m pretty sure the answer is I FORGOT NOTHING, and there will be no meltdown because I am prepared and ready for this adventure to begin.  Right now I’m in the new Terminal Two at SFO and my flight is delayed an hour, which may make it so that I don’t catch my connecting flight in LA, in which case I will stay with Miss Eva Sanders??  Who knows. As far as I’m concerned, my adventure has begun.

Standard

3 thoughts on “TOSS THE KEYS

  1. Grandmama says:

    Dear Erika Bravo you are entering this adventure heroically.The world will open up to your positive energy in wonderful ways. I am the excited onlooker, cheering in the bleachers as always. What a gift you are to me. I am looking forward to your adventure with delight, and even when there are potholes I know you will climb out and stay calm and carry on. Have a fine flight.Lots of love Grandma

  2. Grandmama says:

    Dear Erika
    Bravo you are entering this adventure heroically.The world will open up to your positive energy in wonderful ways. I am the excited onlooker, cheering in the bleachers as always. What a gift you are to me. I am looking forward to your adventure with delight, and even when there are potholes I know you will climb out and stay calm and carry on. Have a fine flight.Lots of love Grandma

  3. Leah says:

    Hi love! Soo incredibly happy to have stopped in on your blog tonight. Words can’t describe how touched I was when I read your extremely unique (but entirely true) “aka” for me. Love love love you, and I’ll be reading for the next 7 months 🙂
    Xoxox

Leave a Reply

